South-Kazakhstan region
Regional profile
The region has a high production potential in the agricultural sector
The key factors determining the industrial production of South Kazakhstan region are population size and concentration, favorable climatic conditions for crop farming, geographical proximity to big cities (by population) and international corridors passing through the territory of the region. Shymkent agglomeration, the second largest agglomeration in Kazakhstan with 1.6 mln. people, creates a potential market for services of main industries of region’s economy, such as commerce, construction and transport.
Economic concentration is located in the city of Shymkent, Arys, Saryagash and districts of Sairam, Ordabasy, Tolebi, Tyulkubas, Kazygurt, Baidibek and Maktaaral
In 500 km area of South Kazakhstan region 4 major region Kazakhstan and the Republic of Uzbekistan are located:

2.4 million people in
Tashkent
4 million people
Zhambyl, Karaganda and Kyzylorda regions
Population (01.05.2016)
2 861,3 thsnd people
1-st place
Population density
24,4 persons/km²
3-rd place
Land area
117 300 km²
13-th place
Major cities
Shymkent
Turkistan
Kentau
Arys
Saryagash
Shardara
Natural zone
Desert
Semi-desert
Land resources
87% of region area is occupied by agricultural land, of which:
• 7.5% arable land
• 78.8% pastures and hayfields
Water resources
• major rivers: the Syrdarya, the Chu, the Arys, the Keles
• 25 lakes: lake Akzhaykyn, lake Akzhar
• 28 reservoirs: Shardara, Bogen, Badam
• 79 groundwater sources
Regional economy
Climate conditions


Mineral resources
Human capital
Infrastructure
Specialization
Clusters
Entrepreneurial potential












Markets
FEEDBACK
Welcome to internet portal businessnavigator.kz!
We will be glad to help you. If you have any questions — please contact us!
Astana
Astana
Kazhymukana str., 8a
Т: +7 (7172) 91 90 80
E-mail: astana@palata.kz
Almaty
Almaty
Gogol str., 111
Т: +7 (7272) 25 18 30
E-mail: almaty@palata.kz
Akmola region
Kokshetau
Abay str., 96
Т: +7 (7162) 72 25 48
E-mail: kokshetau@palata.kz
Aktobe region
Aktobe
Sankibay ave., 22 / A, BC "Kazyna"
Т: +7 (7132) 74 46 07
E-mail: aktobe@palata.kz
Alma-Ata`s region
Taldykorgan
Abay str., 254 "A"
Т: +7 (7278) 40 14 99, 40 14 98
E-mail: zhetysu@palata.kz
Atyrau region
Atyrau
Satpayev str., 78
Т: +7 (7122) 76 36 55, 77 76 06
E-mail: atyrau@palata.kz
East Kazakhstan region
Ust-Kamenogorsk
Victory ave., 6
Т: +7 (7232) 25 12 87
E-mail: oskemen@palata.kz
Jambyl Region
Taraz
Aitiev str. 5A
Т: +7 (7262) 55 59 00
E-mail: zhambyl@palata.kz
West-Kazakhstan region
Uralsk
T. Masina str., 67
Т: +7 (7112) 50 05 84
E-mail: uralsk@palata.kz
Karaganda region
Karaganda
Buhar zhyrau ave., 49, 8th floor
Т: +7 (7212) 50 40 55
E-mail: karaganda@palata.kz
Kostanay region
Kostanay
Al-Farabi str., 116
Т: +7 (7142) 59 79 60, 39 42 08
E-mail: kostanay@palata.kz
Kyzylorda region
Kyzylorda
Aiteke str., 28
Т: +7 (7242) 40 08 91
E-mail: kyzylorda@palata.kz
Mangistau region
Aktau
35 microdistrict, building of the Chamber of Entrepreneurs of Defense
Т: +7 (7292) 30 37 68, 30 29 25
E-mail: aktau@palata.kz
Pavlodar region
Pavlodar
Lomov str., 21
Т: +7 (7182) 67 62 21, 66 03 11
E-mail: pavlodar@palata.kz
North-Kazakhstan region
Petropavlovsk
Abay str., 29
Т: +7 (7152) 50 36 15
E-mail: petropavl@palata.kz
South-Kazakhstan region
Shymkent
Kunaev Boulevard, 21, Business Center "Altyn Orda", 3rd floor
Т: +7 (7252) 99 55 00
E-mail: shymkent@palata.kz 
Разработка и техподдержка Центр устойчивого развития столицы